Canadian Biomass Magazine

2010 World Energy Congress unveils speaker list

February 10, 2010
By Canadian Biomass

Feb. 10, 2010, Montreal – The World Energy Congress Montreal 2010, which will be held September 12 to 16, has unveiled the names of an additional 30 confirmed speakers.

Feb. 10, 2010, Montreal – The World Energy Congress Montreal 2010, which will be held
September 12 to 16, has unveiled the names of an additional 30 confirmed
speakers. In all, more than 150 speakers have been invited to join the
discussions at this international multi-energy forum. The participants will
speak about accessibility, availability, acceptability, and accountability,
representing the global energy issues that reflect the diversity and complexity
of the challenges raised by human energy needs. These leaders from around the
globe represent a mix of large corporations, organizations, universities, and

  • Olivier Appert, chair and
    CEO, Institut français du pétrole, France
  • George Arnold, national
    coordinator for smart grid interoperability, National Institute of
    Standards and Technology, USA
  • Shri Partha S. Bhattacharyya,
    chair, Coal India Ltd, India
  • Samir Brikho, chief
    executive, AMEC plc, UK
  • Lester Brown, president,
    Earth Policy Institute, USA
  • Gaétan Caron, chair and CEO,
    National Energy Board of Canada, Canada
  • Yvo de Boer, executive
    secretary, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
  • George Dick, CEO, RSW Inc,
  • Randy Gossen, vice-president
    of global business relations, Nexen Inc, and president, World Petroleum
    Council, Canada
  • Rita Hamm, CEO, International
    Association for Impact Assessment, USA
  • David Hong, president and senior
    research fellow, Taiwan Institute of Economic Research, Taiwan
  • Lars Jossefsson, president
    and CEO, Vattenfall, Sweden
  • Gérald W. Grandey, president
    and CEO, Cameco, Canada
  • Georgina Kessel, Secretary of
    Energy, Mexico
  • Sandor Liive, CEO and chair
    of the management board, Eesti Energia, Estonia
  • John A. Manzoni, president
    and CEO, Talisman Energy Inc, Canada
  • Teruaki Masumoto, chair,
    Japan Energy Association, and chair, Japanese Member Committee, WEC, Japan
  • John Miles, director, ARUP, UK
  • Lawrence Musaba, coordination
    centre manager, Southern Agrican Power Pool, South Africa
  • Abbas Naqi, Secretary
    General, Organization of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries, Kuwait
  • Antonio Brufau Niubó, chair
    and CEO, Repsol YPF, and vice-president, Gas Natural Group, Spain
  • Dean Oskvig, president and CEO,
    Black & Veatch Energy, USA
  • Rajendra Pachauri, director general,
    The Energy and Resources Institute, India
  • Jacques Régis, president,
    IEC, Canada
  • Vicky Sharpe, president and CEO,
    Sustainable Development Technology, Canada
  • Zhengrong Shi, founder, CEO,
    and chair of the board of directors, Suntech, China
  • Rupa Devi Singh, managing director
    and CEO, Power Exchange India Ltd, India
  • Chris Llewellyn Smith, president,
    Council of SESAME (Synchrotron-light for Experimental Science and its
    Applications in the Middle East)
  • Jean-Pascal Tricoire, president
    and CEO, Schneider Electric, France
  • James Turley, chair and CEO,
    Ernst & Young, USA

World Energy Congress (WEC) Montreal 2010 will give participants an opportunity to
better understand energy issues and solutions from a global perspective. It
will bring together more than 3,500 world leaders of the energy sector,
representing industry, governments, and international organizations, as well as
media, academia, and energy-related associations. Having been held in several
different cities (Madrid, Tokyo, Houston, Buenos Aires, Sydney, and Rome), WEC
returns to Montreal for a second time, as the city hosted the XIVth edition in

The complete Congress program can be consulted online at


Print this page


Stories continue below