Canadian Biomass Magazine


Virtual Event
WPAC Asian Wood Pellet Conference
February 16, 2021 at 7:00pm ET

Energizing Asia with Sustainable Low-carbon Biomass

Japan: February 17, 2021 at 9:00am JST

Canada: February 16, 2021 at 7:00pm EST

The Wood Pellet Association of Canada’s Asian Wood Pellet Conference is coming soon, and you’re invited! Registration is free.

WPAC, together with Canadian Biomass Magazine and Canada’s embassies in Japan and South Korea and its trade office in Taiwan, is hosting a live online conference: Energizing Asia with Sustainable Low-Carbon Biomass. The conference will be held on February 17, 2021 from 9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. , Japan Standard Time (UTC+09:00).

Join us to learn more about how Canadian wood pellets are fast becoming the gateway to the future of innovation in bioenergy and why they are in demand globally by customers seeking to reduce their carbon footprint.

This three and half hour conference, including a break at the half-way point, will pack in a lot of information including:

  • A global market review with an emphasis on Japan, South Korea, and Taiwan.
  • Government policy developments affecting biomass.
  • Evolving Japanese biomass sustainability and GHG requirements.
  • The Canadian wood pellet sustainability story.
  • Results of a Canada-Japan wood pellet greenhouse gas emissions study.
  • Taiwan and other Asian opportunities.
  • Question and answer sessions after each presentation.
  • On Demand Sessions
  • Company Profiles

The event will draw guests from across North America and Asia, including power utilities, trading companies, ports, stevedoring companies, shipping companies, equipment and service suppliers, pellet producers, research institutions and policy makers.  All registrants will automatically be entered into a draw to win a “Canadian Experience” in British Columbia’s beautiful Okanagan region.

*Live Simultaneous interpretations will only be available in Japanese and Korean. While our website and some materials will additionally be available in Mandarin.

Register Now


Schedule

9:00am - 9:07am JST - (7:00pm - 7:07pm EST)
Welcoming and Opening Remarks

Moderator: Gordon Murray, WPAC
Opening welcome: Vaughan Bassett, Pinnacle Renewable Energy & Chair of WPAC

9:07am - 9:14am JST - (7:07pm - 7:14pm EST)
Welcome from the Embassy of Canada to Japan

Speaker Mr. Tracy Reynolds, Minister (Commercial)

9:14am - 9:20am JST - (7:14pm - 7:20pm EST)
Welcome to British Columbia’s Clean Growth Future

Speaker: Katrine Conroy, Minister of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development, Government of British Columbia

9:20am - 9:45am JST - (7:20pm - 7:45pm EST)
Energizing Asia: Expert Analysis of Global markets, a Focus on Japan and South Korea

Speakers: Dr. William Strauss, FutureMetrics & Annette Bossler, FutureMetrics

FutureMetrics: Quick round the world market review, deeper dive into Japan and South Korea markets and policy developments.


9:45am - 10:10am JST - (7:45pm - 8:10pm EST)
Examining Political and Legal Trends: Government Legislation and Policy in Japan and their Impacts for Biomass

Speakers: Peter Armstrong and Maya Ito, Nishimura & Asahi

10:10am - 10:35am JST - (8:10pm - 8:35pm EST)
Evolving Requirements in Sustainability: Learn About Biomass and GHG requirements Currently under Development in Japan

Speaker: Takanobu Aikawa, PhD, Renewable Energy Institute

10:35am - 10:50am JST - (8:35pm - 8:50pm EST)
Break

10:50am - 11:00am JST - (8:50pm - 9:00pm EST)
I Love Canada Contest

Speakers: Tara Jacobs, Canadian Biomass and Vaughan Bassett, Pinnacle Renewable Energy and Chair of WPAC

11:00am - 11:05 am JST - (9:00pm - 9:05pm EST)
The Importance of Trading Partnerships in Tackling Climate Change

Speaker: George Chow, Minister of State for Trade, Government of British Columbia

11:05am - 11:20am JST - (9:05pm - 9:20pm EST)
Responsible, Renewable and Sustainable: The Canadian Wood Pellet Advantage

Speaker: Gordon Murray, Wood Pellet Association of Canada

11:20am - 11:40am JST - (9:20pm - 9:40pm EST)
Verifying the Pellet Carbon Story: Presenting Results of a Canada-Japan GHG study

Speaker: Joseph Aquino, MBA, RPF, Pinnacle Renewable Energy

11:40am - 12:00pm JST ( 9:40pm - 10:00pm EST)
New Horizons for Biomass: A look at Taiwan and other Asian opportunities

Speaker: Rick Harris, Skeena BioEnergy

12:00am - 12:10pm JST - (10:00pm - 10:10pm EST)
Closing Remarks

Speaker: Vaughan Bassett, Pinnacle Renewable Energy and Chair of WPAC

ON DEMAND

On DEMAND
Diane Nicholls: Pellets a good news story for BC’s forests

Speaker: Diane Nicholls, British Columbia’s Chief Forester.

On DEMAND
Gary Bull: Pellets: A Growing Climate Change Solution

Contributor: Gary Bull, Ph.D. Forestry Economics professor and head of department, University of British Columbia, Department of Forest Resources Management

On DEMAND
Gordon Murray: Pellets: Gateway to Innovation for BC’s bioenergy sector

Contributor: Gordon Murray, Executive Director, WPAC

On DEMAND
Gordon Murray: How wood pellet customer relationships help advance sustainability

Contributor: Gordon Murray, Executive Director, WPAC

On DEMAND
Government of British Columbia: An Efficient Sustainable Source of Energy

Contributor: Forestry Innovation Investment Ltd.

On DEMAND
Additional Resources

Climate, Fact Sheets, Indigenous Cooperation and more...


Company Profiles

Meet Our Exporters to Asia
The Wood Pellet Association of Canada is a member-driven organization advancing the interests of Canadian wood pellet producers. Our goal is to help members grow through promoting the role of wood pellets in the Canadian and global markets, promoting responsible sourcing, supporting market and technical research, and encouraging fair and open energy trade. Below is a listing of WPAC members who export to Asia, please contact Gord Murray if you would like to get in touch with one of our members.

Airex Energy

Le Crete Sawmills

Pacific BioEnergy

Pinnacle Renewable Energy

Premium Pellet

Princeton Standard Pellet Corporation

Skeena BioEnergy

Vanderwell Contractors



Product Demos






I Love Canada Contest
Presented by
In Partnership with
Media Partner

Frequently Asked Questions About WPAC Asian Wood Pellet Conference


When & Where?

WPAC Asian Wood Pellet Conference will take place virtually via GoToWebinar on February 16, 2021 at 7:00pm ET.

There will be a 15 minute break between live sessions.

Why Virtual?

The safety and wellbeing of our employees, customers, and community is our number one priority. By making this event an online experience, it eliminates the need for attendees and sponsors to travel in-person, while enabling them to still benefit from the event content.

What’s Included?

Your registration provides you with access to watch the virtual keynote, all live sessions, and on-demand recorded content and product demonstrations.

How do I access?

We will email you an access link to the virtual event the morning of February 16, 2021.

If you don’t see an access link in your email inbox, please check your junk folder. If you are still unable to locate the email, contact Tara Jacobs.