Canadian Biomass Magazine

FPAC announces recipients of 2023’s Awards of Excellence

September 21, 2023
By Forest Products Association of Canada

Pictured (left to Rright): FPAC president and CEO Derek Nighbor, Tim Dedam, AV Group director woodland operations Conway Elkins. Photo: FPAC.

As National Forest Week is celebrated throughout the nation, the Forest Products Association of Canada (FPAC) takes the opportunity to acknowledge distinguished individuals through its annual Awards of Excellence program. These yearly awards celebrate the achievements, efforts, and indelible impact of the incredible professionals whose dedication to not just the industry, but their communities and Canada as a whole, serves as an inspiration to us all.

“This year’s recipients represent the very best of the best in the Canada’s forest products sector, from industry veterans to the future of sustainable forest management,” said Derek Nighbor, president and CEO, FPAC.

“Embracing the essence of innovation, dedication, and community leadership, these individuals have showcased remarkable commitment to advancing our industry across all fronts. Their tireless efforts, transformative ideas, and unwavering leadership have not only shaped the landscape of the forestry industry in Canada but have also illuminated a path forward for a more sustainable and resilient future.”

FPAC’s 2023 Awards of Excellence recipients include:


Jim Carr Community Champion Award:

  1. Senator Colin Deacon
  2. Mayor Wendy Landry

Partnership Award:

  1. Canadian Wood Council (CWC)

Member of the Year Award:

  1. Bonny Skene – Domtar

Lifetime Achievement Award:

  1. Bob Fleet – Tolko Industries Ltd.

Women in Forestry Award

  1. Kari Stuart-Smith – Canfor Corporation

Rising Star Award

  1. Alexis Bolduc-Gagnon – Resolute Forest Products

Skills Awards for Indigenous Youth

  1. Makué Vollant – Member of the Atikamekw de Manawan, Technologie forestière au Cégep de Sainte-Foy (QC)
  2. Catherine Langille – Member of the Seine River First Nation, Indigenous Environmental Science & Studies at Trent University (ON)

Indigenous Business Leadership Award

  1. Listuguj Mi’gmaq Government Chipping (LMG Chipping) – a 100 per cent Indigenous-owned wood chipping operation.

The Forest Products Association of Canada Awards of Excellence celebrate and honour outstanding achievements in the forest products industry, recognizing individuals, organizations, and initiatives that exemplify innovation, sustainability, and leadership. These incredible individuals are celebrated for their exceptional contributions that continue to shape the industry’s progress and promote a sustainable future.

Print this page


Stories continue below