Canadian Biomass Magazine

Editorial: Show us Canada’s best – introducing the Canadian Biomass Awards

October 23, 2023
By Maria Church

This year Canadian Biomass turns 15. I’ve had the privilege of writing for this publication for a good chunk of those years. When our team sat down this year to reflect on ways to recognize the anniversary, one option stood out: awards. 

It’s time, Canada. 

We are beyond proud to announce we’ve officially launched the Canadian Biomass Awards program dedicated to celebrating outstanding individuals, companies and communities working passionately to advance biomass solutions across the country. 

It’s time to raise our glasses to those who have made considerable contributions to support biofuels, bioenergy and bioproducts adoption and progress in our communities.  


We’ll be presenting five awards:

Champion of the Year – This individual demonstrates exceptional advocacy and leadership to advance Canada’s bioeconomy. They champion biomass projects and solutions, engage with policy and decision makers, and celebrate industry successes. 

Company of the Year – This company has taken remarkable strides in recent years to bring innovative products and solutions to the Canadian market. The award is open to bioenergy, bioproducts and biofuels companies, as well as biomass equipment suppliers and consultants.

Community Project of the Year – This award is given to an outstanding community biomass project in Canada brought online with in the last three years. It is open to bioheat, biofuels and bioproducts projects from municipal and Indigenous communities, community groups, and associations.   

Thought Leader of the Year – This individual is mobilizing knowledge within Canada’s biomass industry by advancing, circulating, and advising on new, progressive research. This individual is passionate about improving the industry, regularly engages with the public, and works to bring solutions to market.

Lifetime Achievement – This individual has dedicated their career to innovating, improving and accelerating biomass in Canada. This individual has made outstanding contributions to the industry, and demonstrated leadership, mentorship, and volunteerism throughout their career.

Nominations are now open for all five awards and details on the submission process and the nomination forms can be found on our website here, or in the navigation menu. 

We’ve assembled a roster of current and past Canadian Biomass editors – including our launch editor Scott Jamieson – to form the awards judge panel. Other judges are Ellen Cools, Andrew Snook and Andrew Macklin, each of whom spent a portion of their careers helming this magazine.

We’re excited to see what nominations come in from readers across the country. Spare no detail – we want to heap praise on these deserving individuals, companies, and communities. 

Winners will be featured in the Spring 2024 issue, and celebrated in an online ceremony and forum. Stay tuned for details on that!

Print this page


Stories continue below